Blog Tour Giveaway – Error of Judgement by Roy Lewis

Blog Tour Giveaway – Error of Judgement by Roy Lewis

Today, I’m opening the blog tour for Roy Lewis’ new re-release, Error of Judgement.  The book was originally published in the 60’s and has been revised and republished by Joffe Books.

The giveaway is open from today and details can be found on the link below. 🙂

We are giving away paperbacks of ERROR OF JUDGEMENT to 2 lucky winners chosen at random on 25th October.  To enter the giveaway just enter your details here:  Giveaway entry form and you will be contacted on 25th October.


About Error of Judgement

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing. Full of twists and turns, this will have you gripped from start to finish.

A young woman is found dead in a college while students demonstrate. It turns out she was the principal’s secretary and there was more to her than meets the eye.

Who wanted her dead and why? And what does it have to do with the student revolt led by a charismatic firebrand from Iraq?

Inspector John Crow is called in and has little doubt who’s responsible but a series of surprises will make him reconsider everything.

This fast-paced mystery will have you enthralled from the start. Set in England in the late 1960s, this is the second book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES

Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside” The Times

“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story” The Financial Times

“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles” The Guardian

“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero” Times Literary Supplement

Tightly written, well paced and relentlessly accurate” Oxford Times

“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger” Sunday Telegraph

THE DETECTIVE

Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murder cases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.

About Roy Lewis

Roy Lewis is a well-established crime writer with 60 novels to his name. He lives in the north of England where he sets many of his books. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools who now runs business training programmes and has business interests in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He has three children – all of them lawyers.

 

 

 

**CLOSED** Win My Golden Ticket from Wonderbly

**CLOSED** Win My Golden Ticket from Wonderbly

Oooh, let me tell you about My Golden Ticket.  It’s a personalised book from Wonderbly that, given their claims, I was dubious and curious about, both at the same time.

Wonderbly have teamed up with Roald Dahl to bring the secrets of Willy Wonka and his chocolate factory into the life and imagination of your child.  It isn’t just a personalised book with a generic story and your child’s name plonked into a few sentences here and there.  It’s an adventure, an experience that your child will truly love.

I chose to get Seren a golden ticket to Willy Wonka’s factory knowing that she would appreciate the adventure for sure. 

I remained dubious and curious until the day the book arrived.  Slowly turning the pages of the book, I was awestruck and the adventure had me giggling, pausing and gasping.  I wasn’t disappointed.  Turning the page to discover Seren’s very own chocolatey treat had me on tenterhooks.  Again, the personalised book did not disappoint.






Seren loved the book as much as I did.  My Golden Ticket was more than just a story for her.  It really was an adventure.

My favourite features of the book were the illustrations.  They really do bring the story to life and only add to the experience of being in Willy Wonka’s factory.  There are beautiful illustrations and bright colours on every page and they fit seamlessly together to create a wonderful experience. 

It’s a fantastic personalised book that will tickle tastebuds (imaginary ones) and stretch the imagination further than you realise is possible. If you want to see a preview of your child’s story you can, directly on Wonderbly.com.  What’s more, I have a giveaway right here where you can win a copy of My Golden Ticket for your child. 

The Giveaway

If you want your child to get involved in their own marvelous adventure then all you have to do is enter using the Rafflecopter widget below. Don’t forget to read the Terms & Conditions.

Terms & Conditions

  • The giveaway will end on Sunday 3rd December 2017 at 11.59pm.
  • One entry will be chosen at random and notified within 7 days of the auction ending.
  • The winner will receive a personal single use code to order their own personalised copy of ‘My Golden Ticket’ from Wonderbly.com.
  • The giveaway is open to UK Residents aged 18 or over only.
  • The prize is non-refundable and no cash alternative will be offered.
  • If using the ‘subscribe to newsletter’ entry option please ensure you confirm your subscription to validate these entries.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

You can check out my other giveaways by clicking here.

 

**CLOSED** Review – Boris and the Dumb Skulls by Frank Hinks (& Giveaway)

**CLOSED** Review – Boris and the Dumb Skulls by Frank Hinks (& Giveaway)

With Halloween a matter of weeks away, what are your plans?  In previous years, we have gone trick or treating in the early evening followed by hot dogs and snuggles on the sofa watching a film.  This year we may follow the same pattern but we may replace the film with a children’s book.

We have been sent a copy of the latest book in Frank Hinks’ Ramion Collection to review.  Boris and the Dumb Skulls is the 16th book in the series, aimed at 7+ year olds, and it is being published on 20th October just in time for Halloween.

Brief Synopsis

Griselda the witch has been drinking too much evil spirit. Boris her pet skull and the dim daft dwarves are fed up of being bullied by her. They decide to form a punk rock band and seek fame and fortune. But just before they leave for their first gig two of Griselda’s dead ancestors break out of their glass tanks beneath the ruined tower. Fifi Vicomtesse de Grunch is very keen on dancing. Her husband the Vicomte expresses his feelings towards Fifi’s dancing partners with a spanner. Not surprisingly the boys’ father comes to regret dancing with her. When Griselda arrives at The Polhill Arms to reclaim her property (Boris and the dwarves) things do not work out as she expects (perhaps even Griselda is not totally beyond redemption), but unfortunately the evil spirit is still working inside her: it has not forgotten her ghastly plan of how to fill the larder.

Print

We haven’t actually read any of the preceding 15 Ramion books but I have been doing a little background reading to find out more about the series.  From my impressions, though, you don’t actually need any prior knowledge of the Ramion world and the books work well as stand-alone stories.

Each of the books features the same fun and interesting characters.  Griselda the Grunch is a witch who lives in a ruined tower in the hills; The Boys are 3 brothers who live in The Old Vicarage; Boris is Griselda’s pet skull; Snuggle is a warrior cat sent to protect The Boys; Scrooey-Looey is a sock puppet who lives on the top shelf in the nursery of The Old Vicarage; and Eric and Drago are the friendly dragons.

The books all feature full colour illustrations by Frank Hinks himself and they are truly unique and are the cherry on top of the cake.  Frank Hinks has actually produced around 500 full page gouache paintings to accompany all 16 books.

Have you got a child who would appreciate Boris and the Dumb Skulls this Halloween? If so, you can be in with a chance of winning a Hardback copy of this wonderful book right here!

All you have to do to be in with a chance of winning is enter the Rafflecopter giveaway below and answer the following question in a blog post comment.

How many books are there in the Ramion Collection?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway ends Sunday 26th October 2014.
One winning entry will be drawn at random by Rafflecopter.
The winner will be notified by email within 48 hours of the giveaway ending.
One winner will receive a hardback copy of Boris and the Dumb Skulls.
The giveaway is open to UK Residents aged 18 or over.
The prize is non-refundable and no cash alternative will be offered.