Blog Tour Book Review – Buried Lies by Chris Collett

Blog Tour Book Review – Buried Lies by Chris Collett

I love a good book from Joffe Books. In fact, over the weekend I finished the new release from Chris Collett, Buried Lies. It’s a revised edition, previously published as ‘Blood and Stone’.

About Buried Lies

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is back. and in emotional turmoil. After the funeral of his ex, Anna, he heads to the Welsh countryside to walk out his feelings and recover.

His holiday is disrupted by the discovery of a dead body in the woods. Murder appears to be the order of the day, but who is responsible?

As the bodies continue to be discovered, the secrets of the remote Welsh village begin to come out.

How enjoyed is Mariner wrapped up in the murder?
Is everyone as shocked by the murders as they seem?
Who is responsible for the murders?

Buried Lies is a fantastic crime fiction novel that will keep you guessing until the very end.

My Review

The first book I read by Chris Collett was Baby Lies way back in March. She had me hooked even then.

Buried Lies is no different, the suspense starts to build up from the first page and the mystery just continues to build .

I enjoyed the quieter periods of the story with Mariner’s walking when he was working through his inner turmoil. But the action soon picked up again.

Chris’ winning is brilliant and she keeps the suspense going all the way through.

If you love a quick action packed fast paced crime fiction novel, this is for you.

The whole DI Mariner series is available from Amazon using the following links.

About Chris Collett

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

The first five DI Tom Mariner books will be released in revised editions by Joffe Books in 2017/2018.

Links
Website:  www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk
Twitter: @crime_crow
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

 

Blog Tour – Married Lies by Chris Collett

Blog Tour – Married Lies by Chris Collett

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Lucy Jarrett is terrified. Someone is watching her every move, following her home from work and making threatening phone calls. But her husband doesn’t believe her and no one else is listening.

Lucy’s married life is proving anything but blissful. Her musician husband is perpetually away on tour and doesn’t want to start a family.

Lucy finally calls on DI Tom Mariner for help, and he takes her fears seriously because of the recent murder of another young woman by her ex-partner.

Mariner himself is already on the hunt for a sadistic killer. Nina Silvero, wife of an ex-police officer, was duped into sipping sulphuric acid disguised as celebratory wine. Grappling with her apparently motiveless killing, Mariner delegates Lucy’s case to Millie Khatoon.  Is someone out for revenge against the police?

Can DI Tom Mariner track down the stalker and catch the killer before anyone else dies?

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fifth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING

Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “STALKED BY SHADOWS.”

DI MARINER SERIES

Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Books 6-7 coming soon

 

CHRIS COLLETT – AUTHOR BIO

I was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to go in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

Blog Tour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett

Blog Tour: Baby Lies by Chris Collett

March is turning into a busy month for book reviews.  This is the first of four before the end of the month.  So, my fellow bookworms, are you ready for the latest case of Detective Tom Mariner and his team?  This is a tricky one, involving the kidnap of a 6-week-old baby which leads to an avalanche of criminal activity. There’s definitely more to the case than first meets the eye.

Baby Lies is the fourth in the DI Mariner series written by Chris Collett.

It is a revised edition of an earlier release titled Blood Money.  Straight up,  Baby Lies is the first book I have ever read from Chris.  I went in blind, with no prior knowledge of Detective Mariner and his team and I was concerned that this would affect how much I enjoyed the book. 

It turned out that I was hooked from the end of the first chapter.  I started it on 2nd March and 36 hours later, I marked the book as completed. It was a thrilling read that kept me wanting to turn the pages.  (Figuratively speaking given that I’m reading on the Kindle.) Chris’ style of writing made my job of reading it very easy indeed, although I was quite miffed with myself for not seeing the climax coming until just before.  (A lot of similar novels are easy to guess.)

Tom Mariner is a great protagonist.  He’s a likeable detective and has a heart of gold.  He’s compassionate, kind and caring, but also married to his job.  This causes issues in his personal life and prevents him from really settling down.  He really didn’t deserve what he got though. That part of the book made me sad.

Chris Collett’s Baby Lies gets a 5/5 from me today.  It was a gripping story, full of twists and turns that kept me guessing until the very end.

If you are interested in reading Baby Lies, you can purchase it by clicking on the image below.

However, if like me, you prefer to start at the beginning (which is what I’m going to do now!) then you can purchase the first three books by clicking on the images below.

 

About Chris Collett

I was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to go in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

Thank you very much to Chris and Joffe Books for the copy I read in order to write this review.