Book Reviews

Blog Tour – Unworthy by Stewart Giles

28th March 2018

Today, it’s time for another Blog Tour stop at my place.  Another read, another crime novel.  This time, taking the stage, it’s Unworthy, a self-published novel by Stewart Giles

Unworthy is the 8th book in the series following DS Jason Smith and his team in York. 

DS Smith cuts his leave short as a case of murdered mothers unfolds.  There are startling similarities between crime scenes, but it most certainly goes deeper than first appears.  DS Smith fights to solve the case before a case of mistaken identity brings his world crashing down around him.

I had never heard of Stewart Giles before this book arrived in my inbox. I have to say, initially, I found it hard going.

The first few chapters of the book were difficult, I genuinely thought that I wouldn’t be able to finish it and I would never be able to write this review.  However, I could attribute that to the fact that the characters had already developed and I hadn’t seen the evolution of them.  I do feel that the history of DS Smith is important, and the reader only gets snippets of it throughout the book.  (This wouldn’t be a problem if I had read the first 7.)

By the time I got to the half way point, I had been engrossed in the storyline for a while and the characters, particularly Jason, had grown on me.  I actually loved the different facets of his character.  Stewart’s writing style had also worked its charm and with a plot full of twists and a very big red herring (thanks, Stewart!) I can safely say it has stuck with me. 

Although, the characters are well defined and developed, there’s definitely room for more development should Stewart decide to continue the series.  (The thought is a good one).

I recommend Unworthy to anyone who loves a good crime novel with plenty of suspense.  You can click on the image below to buy it.

Again, with all my book reviews, I’m going to make it easy for you to start at the beginning.  The images below are clickable links to the first 7 of the DS Jason Smith series.

Also, there’s a collection of five early DS Smith cases in which he learns that detective work isn’t always black and white.  You can buy this one by clicking the image below.

About Stewart Giles

After reading English & Drama at three different English Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling and finally ended up in South Africa, where I still live. I enjoy the serene life running a boat shop on the banks of the Vaal Dam. I came up with the DS Jason Smith idea after my wife dropped a rather large speaker on my head. Whether it was intentional still remains a mystery. Smith, the first in the series was finished in September 2013 and was closely followed by Boomerang and Ladybird. Occam’s Razor, Harlequin and Phobia (a series of short stories detailing Smith’s early life) were all completed in one hazy 365 days and Selene was done and dusted a few months later.


  • Reply
    Melanie williams
    4th April 2018 at 4:41 pm

    Crime novel and suspense – yes please. This is deffo the read for me and right up my street for sure x

    • Reply
      Beth Davidson
      14th April 2018 at 10:39 am

      Oooh, it was brilliant. I’m glad I didn’t give up on it to start with. I love how that’s always the way for me.

  • Reply
    4th April 2018 at 3:25 pm

    This sounds like an intriguing book – I like to start at the beginning of a crime series and will give it a go when I have time! Thanks for the review

    • Reply
      Beth Davidson
      14th April 2018 at 10:40 am

      I definitely recommend you giving it a go. It was very much an intriguing book. I’d quite like to give it a go from the beginning now too.

  • Reply
    4th April 2018 at 9:30 am

    I do love a good crime novel, me. I’d be inclined to start with book 1, as I know how difficult it can be to fully appreciate the characters without all that background info.

    • Reply
      Beth Davidson
      14th April 2018 at 10:42 am

      Crime novels are fab! I love them too… I would like to start at book one, although from a review perspective it’s quite nice to say whether it works well as a standalone.

  • Reply
    4th April 2018 at 9:25 am

    I do enjoy crime books and it sounds as this one grew on you. It sounds as though it would be worth reading the previous books first to be able to enjoy this book from the start.

    • Reply
      Beth Davidson
      14th April 2018 at 10:43 am

      It definitely grew on me, although I do think you need to read from the start of the series to get to grips with the characters and who they are. As we all know the characters develop through a book and the same applies to a series.

  • Reply
    3rd April 2018 at 10:15 pm

    Oh i get too scared by crime books or films! This sounds right up my mother in law’s street though

    • Reply
      Beth Davidson
      14th April 2018 at 10:44 am

      Definitely recommend Stewart’s books to your mother in law then, it’s a great series.

  • Reply
    Annette, 3 Little Buttons
    3rd April 2018 at 2:28 pm

    Ekk! I’m not really a crime book fan. For some reason I find reading a crime/horror book much more scary than watching a film! Glad you enjoyed it though. – even if the start was a bit tricky.

    • Reply
      Beth Davidson
      14th April 2018 at 10:46 am

      I think they are a more scary because you have complete control over the scenes you picture in your mind. I find them less scary – my imagination only gives me what I want! Haha!

  • Reply
    Starlight and Stories
    3rd April 2018 at 11:16 am

    I’m so glad that things ended better than you thought. It’s hard when the opening isn’t very engaging to get stuck in x

    • Reply
      Beth Davidson
      14th April 2018 at 10:47 am

      It was hard, but I think it wasn’t engaging me because I hadn’t read the first books in the series. I was being thrown into developed characters without watching them develop. If that makes any sense at all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.